The SPAR Women’s Grand Prix Series
returns, “by invitation”.

SPAR was approached by Athletics South Africa (ASA) and the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa to assist road runners who have been unable to earn due to the Covid-19 pandemic and lockdown restrictions. After consultations with ASA and the government, it was decided to host the annual SPAR Women’s Grand Prix Series 2021, limiting each race to a maximum of 250 runners, with no spectators allowed and by invitation only.

The six races will be known as the SPAR Women’s Grand Prix 10km Invitational.

The SPAR Grand Prix will take place over six races in six cities with generous cash prize money.

A prize purse of R170,000 is up for grabs at each of the 6 races.

In addition to prize money, points are awarded at each event, based on finish positions in both the OPEN category and in the various AGE CATEGORIES. The accumulated points decide the placings in the Grand Prix Series with the ultimate winner of the SPAR Grand Prix receiving R190,000. Second place will receive R90,000 and the third-place runner will receive R55,000.

MaritzburgSunday22 August
Cape TownSaturday4 September
DurbanSaturday11 September
TshwaneFriday24 September
JoburgSunday3 October
GqeberhaSaturday9 October